The School of Public Health (SPH), Nanjing Medical University (NMU), traces its root to the Department of Public Health in 1940s at Jiangsu Provincial Institute of Medical Affairs, one of the earliest institutes providing professional training programs in public health and preventive medicine education in China. In 1953, the department started to enroll undergraduates in Public Health. It was renamed the School of Public Health in 1995. Today, the school also offers programs of PhD, MSC and MPH, at different levels cultivating professionals in Public Health and Preventive Medicine. In addition, the school has been constantly devoted to scientific researches, discipline construction and development of all students’ humanistic quality. The discipline of Occupational Medicine and Environmental Health is a National Key Discipline; both Toxicology and Epidemiology & Health Statistics are Jiangsu Key Disciplines. The SPH has MOE (Ministry of Education) Key Laboratory of Modern Toxicology, Jiangsu Province Key Laboratory of Cancer Biomarkers and Prevention and Jiangsu Collaborative Innovation Center for Cancer Personalized Medicine (Foster), which are part of the State Key Laboratory of Reproductive Medicine. Preventive medicine is awarded as a Famous Brand Discipline of Jiangsu Province, a Characteristic Discipline construction site of the Ministry of Education and is also a national innovation experimental area for personnel training model. Preventive medicine teaching team has been selected as a national teaching team. The SPH has built National Preventive Medicine Experimental Teaching Demonstration Center, Jiangsu Public Health Practice Education Center, the national excellent course of Toxicology, national excellent resource-sharing course of Toxicology and national bilingual demonstration course of Epidemiology. The discipline of Public Health and Preventive Medicine in our school ranked the third in the national first-level discipline overall rankings announced by the Ministry of Education in 2012.

The school has 8 departments (Department of Occupational Medicine and Environmental Health, Department of Toxicology, Department of Epidemiology, Department of Biostatistics, Department of Nutrition and Food Hygiene, Department of Maternal Child and Adolescent Health, Department of Social Medicine and Health Education, Department of Hygienic Analysis and Detection), 4 research centers (the State Experimental Teaching Center of Preventive Medicine, the Public Health Teaching Research Center, the Public Health Emergency Consultation and Research Center and the Hygienic Analysis and Detection Center) and one Core Facilities. The school has 141 faculty and staff members, including 26 professors, 24 associate professors and 41 lecturers. In this high-quality and energetic team, there are 19 doctorial supervisors and 34 master supervisors. The school has one national excellent teacher and one Jiangsu excellent teacher, 2 distinguished professors and two young scholars of Changjiang Scholar Program, one winner of the state Hundred, Thousand and Ten-Thousand Leading-talent Project, 2 winners of the New Century Hundred, Thousand and Ten-Thousand Talent Project at the state level, 2 winners of New Century Talent-supporting Project of the Ministry of Education, 2 winners of the National Outstanding Youth Science Fund, 2 winners of National Excellent Youth Fund, 5 experts approved to receive the special allowance of the State Council, one winner of Young and Middle-aged Leading-talents in Sci-tech Innovation Project of the Ministry of Science and Technology, one winner of Top-talent Project of Central Committee’s Organization Department, one awarded the National Excellent Postdoctor, one winner of the National Excellent 100 Doctoral Dissertation, one winner of Shulan Medicine Award, 24 selected as candidates of Jiangsu 333 program, 4 honored as experts with outstanding contributions in Jiangsu province, 6 winners of the Outstanding Youth Science Fund in Jiangsu province and 2 Jiangsu distinguished professors.

The school has established three undergraduate specialities, Preventive Medicine, Hygienic Analysis& Detection and Biostatistics. At present, there are 720 undergraduates,242 postgraduate students and 365 MPH students.